shape shape shape shape

Aircraft Maintenance Engg.

AME Mechanical B1.1


An Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) is a licensed person who carries out and certifies aircraft maintenance. In India, the licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineers (AMEs) authorised by the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) are the only engineers in aviation who certifies the airworthiness of Indian registered aircraft before flying.

Mechanical B1.1 stream that deals with the study and maintenance of Jet Engine & Heavy Aeroplane Structure is commonly known as Category B1.1 in Mechanical Stream. Students of Mechanical Stream who successfully clear all the Basic Knowledge Module Examination conducted by DGCA and completes all the maintenance experience requirements stipulated by DGCA in Civil Aviation Requirement-66 get the Aircraft Maintenance Engineering Licence in Category B1.1.

Eligibility: Aspirants who have completed 12th with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics as core subjects or equivalent from a recognised board or university are eligible to join these courses. If you are a 3-year diploma holder in mechanical, electrical or electronics, you can also join the program.

Course Overview

Duration 2400 hours
Skill level All level
Language English
Online Test Series Yes
Students 180
Module 11

Why Licence is required

No aircraft can take off without the certificate of release to service issued by appropriately authorised certifying staff on behalf of the CAR-145 approved maintenance organisation when satisfied that all maintenance required by the customer of the aircraft or aircraft component has been properly carried out by the CAR-145 approved maintenance organisation in accordance with the procedures specified in the maintenance organisation exposition taking into account the availability and use of the maintenance data. To become an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer one has to take a Licence from the Regulatory Authority i.e. Director General of Civil Aviation as per Rule 61 of Aircraft Rule 1937 derived from the Aircraft Act 1934 passed by Indian Parliament, Govt.of India under the aircraft rule.


Module 3: Electrical Fundamentals

Module 4: Elecronic Fundamentals

Module 5: Digital Techniques Electronic Instrument System

Module 6: Materials and Hardware

Module 7: Maintenance Practices

Module 8: Basic Aerodynamics

Module 9: Human Factors

Module 10: Aviation Legislation

Module 11: Turbine Aeroplane Aerodynamics, Structures and Systems

Module 15: Gas Turbine Engine

Module 17: Propeller

Do you know?

As per Indian Aircraft Act, 1934—Rule made thereunder– mandates release of Indian Registered Aircraft for flying, after it is certified by Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME); licensed by Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA). A licensed AME certifies, “Aircraft is airworthy and safe for flying”, before it undertakes any flight. An individual who desires to obtain AME license, needs to undergo a licensing program as per DGCA regulation.

Even if you have a BSc, BE/B.Tech, ME/M.Tech or PhD in Aviation/ Aeronautical/Aerospace degree; for certification of any Indian registered Aircraft you are required to be licensed by Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) as per regulation (CAR-66). A licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) can only certify Aircraft for airworthy condition as well as safe for flying. As a licensed AME you can certify:

  • Large Aircraft operated by Airlines.
  • Aircraft operated for charter operation and business jets.
  • Aircraft used by State and Central Government for their various needs.
  • Aircraft required for pilot’s flying training.

After becomimg licensed AME, you can be employed in various national and international aviation industries across the world.

Already registered? Sign in

Study with the Leader in Aviation Training